LGBTQ Nation - Locals Jewel Thais-Williams, Patrice Cullors, Alicia Garza, Ron Oden and Phill Wilson are named in the resolution.

Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA) introduced a resolution that “seeks to uplift the contributions of Black LGBTQ+ individuals, both past and present, as fearless trailblazers in American culture and society.”

House Resolution 170, as introduced by Lee and co-sponsored by 29 other Congress members, specifically lists 26 Black LGBTQ people — including civil rights activists Bayard Rustin, James Baldwin, Audre Lorde, Marsha P. Johnson, and Black Lives Matter co-founders Patrisse Cullors and Alicia Garza — to celebrate and recognize, “those whose names we will never know.”


Mailing List